NDRMF Gender Mainstreaming Policy and Practice Guidelines
  • Gender and Development Policy (GAD)
  • Diversity, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Policy; and
  • Gender Action Plan (GAP)
  • NDRMF’s Anti-harassment Policy
  • FIP Accreditation Criteria for Gender Mainstreaming
  • Proposal Evaluation Criteria for Gender Mainstreaming
  • Project Categorization for Gender Mainstreaming

The impacts of natural disasters are always gender differentiated: commonly, more women (than men) die in disasters. Girls, boys, women and men have distinct needs, vulnerabilities and capacities to respond to disasters. Men generally have greater access to and control over income, land, economic resources, political power, and information. This may disadvantage women in coping with disaster (Gender, Disaster Risk Reduction and Climate Change Adaptation: A Learning Companion’, Oxford: Oxfam).

Disaster risk reduction is a prerequisite for sustainable development, and a fundamental principle.  The Rio+20 outcome calls for accelerating implementation of the Hyogo Framework which says “(d) Develop early warning systems that are people centered, in particular systems whose warnings are timely and understandable to those at risk, which take into account the demographic, gender, cultural and livelihood characteristics of the target audiences, including guidance on how to act upon warnings, and that support effective operations by disaster managers and other decision makers.”

Pakistan is a signatory to and is obligatory to report on international human rights treaties aiming at gender equality to create more resilient communities and societies (UN Environment (2015) Gender and Environment). Knowing fragility of Pakistan to natural hazards, NDRMF has prioritized gender mainstreaming as one of the prime goals and a cross-cutting substance towards making Pakistan resilient against natural disasters.

In compliance to international and national commitments, NDRMF in collaboration with Fund Implementing Partners (FIPs) will undertake following anticipated approaches to mainstream gender equality through different programme(s) and project (s):

  • Grounding interventions on gender vulnerability assessment through MHVRA, assessment of different contributing factors, means and ways to address the identified gaps, differentiating practical gender needs (PGNs) and strategic gender needs (SGNs).
  • Building resilience of men, women boys, girls and persons with disabilities (PWDs) by transferring knowledge and skills, awareness raising aiming to change gender roles and gender division of labor in risk environments.
  • Enhanced gender inclusive protection through retrofitting of social sector buildings (education and health for maximizing access to services including, education, health and referral.
  • Engendering and sharing best practices and knowledge products for building resilience of men, women boys, girls and PWDs.
  • Introducing participatory accountability mechanisms aiming at gender inclusive decision making processes at the community and policy levels through programmes and projects implemented in collaboration with FIPs.
International Legal Frameworks to which Pakistan is Signatory
  • 2030 Agenda -Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
  • 1995-Beijing Platform for Action
  • 1993-United Nations Declaration on Violence Against Women
  • 1989-United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC)
  • 1985-Nairobi Forward Looking Strategies for the advancement of women (NFLS)
  • 1984-Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW)
  • 1948-The United Nations Universal Declaration on Human Rights (UNDHR)
  • 2005-15-The Hyogo Framework for Action

National policy, policy guidelines and legal frameworks

  • The Pakistan Climate Change Act 2017 was passed to meet Pakistan’s obligations under international conventions relating to climate change and its effects.
  • National Disaster Management Plan (developed in compliance to Pakistan Climate Change Act 2017)
  • Flood Protection Plan-IV (NFPP-IV)
  • National Policy Guidelines on Vulnerable Groups in Disasters (NDMA)