Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030 (Sendai Framework) is a 15-year, voluntary, non-binding agreement which recognizes that the Government has the primary role to reduce disaster risk but that responsibility should be shared with other stakeholders including local government, the private sector, and other stakeholders.

It aims for the following outcome:

  • The substantial reduction of disaster risk and losses in lives, livelihoods, and health and in the economic, physical, social, cultural and environmental assets of persons, businesses, communities, and countries.

The Sendai Framework is the successor instrument to the Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) 2005-2015: Building the Resilience of Nations and Communities to Disasters. It is the outcome of stakeholder consultations initiated in March 2012 and inter-governmental negotiations held from July 2014 to March 2015. It is the first major agreement of the post-2015 development agenda, with seven targets and four priorities for action.


Figure: Sendai Framework’s Four Priority Areas


The Sendai Framework is the basis for a risk-informed and resilient sustainable development agenda that calls for “a gender, age, disability and cultural perspective in all policies and practices; and the promotion of women and youth leadership”.


Figure: The Seven Global Targets (Sendai Framework)


Download the Chart of the Sendai Framework for DRR (